Internet Money drops their debut album

B4 The Storm Album Review

This is Internet Money’s debut album. The album has big name features like Swae Lee, Future, Lil Tecca, JuiceWRLD, Trippie Redd and more. This is the cover are for the album via Internet Money Records

B4 the Storm album cover art

This is Internet Money’s debut album. The album has big name features like Swae Lee, Future, Lil Tecca, JuiceWRLD, Trippie Redd and more. This is the cover are for the album via Internet Money Records

Noah Walls, Staff Reporter

Internet Money’s best known members are its founders, producers Taz Taylor and Nick Mira. With many songs to show for their success like Juice Wrlds “Lucid Dreams” and Lil Teccas “Ransom” the producers have been waiting for the right time for an album. 

“B4 the Storm” will be the producer’s debut album into the rap game. The team has brought up a lot of young artists and look to continue their success with their strong group of people including Lil Tecca, The Kid Laroi, Trippie Redd, Iann Dior, Lil Mosey and more. Wiz Khalifa, Future and Swae Lee are some of the bigger names to show out in the album, but it seems that the label is focusing on the younger artist with multiple songs by TyFontaine, 24kGoldn, and StaySolidRocky

The producers open up the album with “Message” with TyFontaine. The beat from the song sounds like violins and 808s behind his voice, TyFontaines unique high pitch rapping fits the beat and makes the song flow. Track two, “Really Redd” By Trippie Redd, Lil Keed, Lil Nudy comes off as one of my favorite songs off the album. Trippie Redd opens up with a perfect chorus verse. Lil Keed and Lil Nudy share a shorter verse which adds much versatility to the overall sound. The song is catchy and the title “Really Redd” comes from the three artist’s similar red dread hairstyles. On the next track three bigger names come together for “Lost Me.” Lil Mosey, Iann Dior, and Lil Skies are three very young artists that have all created a name for themselves in the rap game. Lil Mosey starts the song off with his usual, fun to listen to, hook for the song. Iann Dior and Lil Skies both speak their mind with their short verses, being under a minute. The song was well put together and has much potential to be a big song.

In track four and five the producers go with new artists that have to prove their worth in this industry. Track four “Right Now” by Cochise & TyFontaine is one of my least favorites on the album. The two artists seem to mimic Young Thug’s flow and unique sound which isn’t my favorite but still a solid song from the young artist. Track five “Familiar” is a solo song with TheHxliday an 18-year old artist from Florida. TheHxliday starts the song with his perfect voice over a piano type beat. I can see TheHxliday really becoming a big artist soon if he continues to make songs with his given talent.

The next section of the album is when the big names pop up for Internet Money. Track six by Lil Tecca “JLO” has the perfect hook and he fits a nice verse in the mix as well. This song is definitely a top song on the album from Teccas voice and Nick Miras producing. Track seven features Swae Lee & Future in “Thrusting.” As we all know Swae Lee has a beautiful voice and always sets the mood with his soothing hooks. Future, one of the most influential rappers ever, picks up the tempo with a rap verse to end the song and this song is an instant classic from the two artists. The next song, “Speak” has one of my favorite smaller artists on it. The Kid Laroi, 17-year old from Australia , just entered the rap game less than a year ago and has already had several big songs including an appearance on JuiceWRLDs posthumous album  in “Hate the Other Side”. The song “Speak” really shows off The Kid Larois true talent and is a very good song with an amazing beat to back it up from Taz Taylor. Track number nine is “Blastoff” by JuiceWRLD & Trippie Redd. These two have many classics together like “1400/999 Freestyle” and “6 Kiss” and obviously look to continue the duo’s success with Internet Money. “Blastoff” brings a lot of sorrow into the label because of the late JuiceWRLD who passed in October of 2019. The song is definitely a good one and the artists voices match perfectly with Nick Miras drum beat.

As the album comes to an end the last final songs don’t disappoint. Track 11  is “Somebody” by Lil Tecca & A boogie wit da Hoodie. This song was first released in March but the team decided the song was so well put together they couldn’t not put it on the album. The final track is “Lemonade” by three of the hottest rappers in the industry right now. Gunna, NAV & Don Tolliver create the perfect summertime song, from Don Toliver’s catchy hook to Gunna and NAVs verses the song is well constructed and a very good one. 

Internet Money delivered the perfect debut album, which I believe will bring the team plenty of sales to maybe create the sequel for the producers. The big name features is what helps bring this whole project together but from every little detail Taz Taylor and Nick Mira did a great job setting up the album for success. I really enjoyed listening to this album and will keep listening to the music until Internet Money and their team go for another.